EMERALDCUBE BLOG

Scheduling and Purging Scheduler Jobs


INTRODUCTION:

This document is to be used as a reference to create and edit scheduler jobs and includes details on how to make changes to existing jobs by purging existing job scheduler records.

P91300 – Job Scheduler application

Running batch jobs to create reports requires users to submit them manually, but another alternative is to schedule them to run at specific times using the EnterpriseOne Scheduler.  Adding these jobs to the EnterpriseOne scheduler is done by the scheduler application (P91300) that allows us to schedule jobs periodically by time (day, week, month, year) or based on a specific interval. The scheduler also allows you to specify the server and time zone to run the job in, run it in specific job queues, and have either of the logging options turned on. It also lets us resubmit a job if it fails.

When we define a scheduled job, the parameters of that job are stored in the Scheduled Job Master table (F91300). The system writes records to the Scheduler table (F91320), indicating each time that the job should be launched. As the job runs, the ‘Job Monitor’ monitors the progress of the job.

Purging Scheduled Jobs

Not all UBE purges scheduled records can be deleted using the DELETE button. We can ONLY delete scheduled records which have status 01 (Scheduled) or 50 (Hold) using the DELETE button. For the rest of the statuses, you need use UBE R91300B to purge the existing records from the list of future job occurrences.

R91300B
WARNING! Running the R91300B without specifying the specific scheduled job to delete upcoming scheduler records for will result in deleting upcoming scheduler records for ALL scheduled UBEs, so be precise in the Data Selection to specify the specific name of the report schedules you want purged.

Here is an example of what the data selection should look like:

The R91300B’s Processing Options allow this report to run in a specific Time zone and in PROOF or FINAL mode. Running this UBE in PROOF mode allows the Administrator to check the PDF report without changing anything in the Scheduler table.  If the results of running this report in PROOF mode are satisfactory, run the UBE again in FINAL mode, and this will delete those selected records from table F91320.  For audit purposes, table F91300 will not be purged, just the R91320.  The R91300B can be run locally or on the Enterprise/Logic server.

If you happen to purge off that specific job’s scheduler records with the R91300B without the Data Selections, the scheduled job must be activated and run again in order to create new scheduled job entries. So, when you activate the job again after purging, update the scheduler to add a future date, which means you are basically setting up the first run date/time again.  If the job date and time are not entered as a future time, the job will not be submitted again.

In order to get the job running, we can follow either of the two options:

  1. Use the ‘Reset Schedule’ button.
  2. OR Get to ‘Job Revisions’ and give it a new start date/time of the current date or later.

Reference JDE Doc ID 1292206.1

To make Purging scheduled jobs easier, we have a feature in EmeraldPrism that can automate this process. EmeraldPrism is our JDE monitoring and alerting tool, and it performs regularly scheduled purges for these and other technical tables. To learn more, visit http://www.emeraldprism.com.